Memphis Backyard Farmer


Sweet Cucurbits!
January 4, 2012, 7:26 am
Filed under: Cooking, Gardening | Tags: , ,

It’s not that I’m weird, I’m just cheap. But two of the most exciting events for me over the Thanksgiving and Christmas holidays was scoring a free pumpkin and a free acorn squash. It amazes me how these fantastic winter squashes have become mere decorations, with people throwing them out once they’ve outlasted their seasonal aesthetic value. I received the pumpkin from a friend when she tore down her Halloween party, and the acorn squash was found on the side of the road, having rolled off a float during the town Christmas parade.

Okay, so maybe I’m a little weird.

I love winter squashes because they’re so much sweeter than their summer cousins, and because their shelf-life is so long. With proper care, they’ll keep all winter long. And even though I scored mine for free, you can pick up most squash for a few bucks, and get several meals out of them. From my medium pumpkin, we made two pumpkin pies, two pots of pumpkin soup, and roasted the pumpkin seeds for a snack. The smaller acorn squash made a baked squash casserole and a baked sweet-potato / squash dish that was better than any baked sweet potatoes I’ve ever had. Heck, if you can feed my bunch (two adults, three teens, and two pre-teens) on just a few bucks, then I’m sold.

Over the next few posts I’m going to give you a few recipes we used to prepare our squashes. But to prepare you, a little education. Here’s a great video (albeit a little long) from “Your Produce Guy” about these garden beauties.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

