Memphis Backyard Farmer


Me, Oh My, Can You Say Pie?
January 20, 2012, 4:20 am
Filed under: Cooking, Gardening | Tags: , , ,

In my last post I told you about my excellent luck in scoring some free winter squashes, and I promised to give you a few recipes for making use. So here’s me making good on my promise.

Let’s start with pie.

First of all, let me say that this is not my recipe for pumpkin pie. In fact, I’m technically not giving you a recipe, I’m expanding and expounding on Allrecipe.com’s pumpkin pie, which you can find here. I was particularly jazzed about this mixture after I found that it called for a cup of honey, which we try to feature in our cooking whenever possible.

I wanted to say a few things about preparing your pumpkin for pie. There are a few tips at the top of the Allrecipe article about cooking pumpkin, but in my experience, you can do a bit more to make your pumpkin ready for pie.

First of all, make sure it’s done. I split my pumpkin in half, clean the seeds out, and place it face down on a cookie sheet. Allrecipes says to oil it – good idea. Be sure that you cook the heck out of it. Use a fork and test both the outside flesh, which is always a bit tougher, and the inside meat. Both should be squishy. I’ve cooked a lot of spaghetti squash, and when it’s done, it’s incredibly tender. If you have to use any effort to scrape the shells, then it’s not done. Your pumpkin should have the same feel, all the way through. If there’s any give when you puncture it with your fork, let it cook some more.

Second – and this is more important if you’re cooking pie, rather than soup – strain your pumpkin. After you’ve spooned the meat from the shell and let it cool, blend it so that it’s uniform and smooth. But before you call it “done”, use a wire strainer to strain off extra liquid. Some pumpkins still have a lot of moisture to them, and it tends to separate when you cook the pie. It’s heartbreaking to pull a soggy pie out of the oven when you’ve poured so much effort into that homemade, from scratch crust. If you don’t drain the extra liquid, you’ll end up with a pie swimming in pumpkin juice. It’s still great, mind you, but it doesn’t have that firm texture that pumpkin pie should have.

Third, there’ one characteristic spice in pumpkin pie around my house, and that’s nutmeg. There is no nutmeg in this recipe, therefore it cannot actually be called pumpkin pie. Add some.

And, last, as good as this is, throw in a bit more cinnamon, closer to 3/4 or 1 teaspoon.

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

