Memphis Backyard Farmer


I Need Some Help
April 5, 2013, 8:20 am
Filed under: Bee Keeping | Tags: , , ,

ImageI need some help.

For close to ten years I’ve kept in bees in one particular bee yard owned by a very gracious farmer. It’s been a somewhat symbiotic relationship. He accommodates my hives when he plows, mows, and harvests, and my bees pollinate his crops year after year.

But the plot has never been ideal.

When it rains, the place is a mud pit. The hives are located so very far off the road that it’s almost impossible to reach for weeks after the rain. The crops are conventionally grown, which means there’s lots of herbicides and pesticides. My hive losses the last few years have been huge. It’s time to try another, more hospitable place.

If you have a spot you’d like to donate to two bee hives, I’d love to talk.

I’d prefer a spot in the Raleigh / Bartlett area of Memphis, since that’s where I live. But I’d also love to help you if you have an urban farm / garden in the city. As long as there’s easy access, and low/no pesticide application, I’d love to talk.

You can post a comment below if you’re interested, or feel free to email me at memphisfarmer[at]gmail.com.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Two mile radius . . . that’s how far your bees will go to find what they need. You don’t have to be on top of a farm for your hives to do well. Generally, the only reason to worry about location is if you are looking to produce a particular kind of honey. You might want to place them next to a large field of clover for example if clover honey is your thing. Otherwise, they will amaze you with their ability to find food sources nearby. Our hives are in a residential backyard, and they are bringing in pollen like crazy even now when so few blossoms are out here in CT.

Comment by dracomyst

I certainly like to give my girls the best location possible. Putting them in the best position to help both me and a good farmer is my preference. But more than anything, I want a place that’s close, easy to access, and good, full sun.

Comment by memphisbackyardfarmer

I have two acres In Eads. Call me. I would love to start bee keeping myself
901-734-1545 Terry

Comment by terry eakin

First of all, I’m so glad to have a local drop by!

Second, I’m really, really hoping to find a place a little closer to the Raleigh / Bartlett area if possible. Believe it to not, I used to have some bees at a place in Eads, but they got neglected because it was such a long trek to get out there.

That doesn’t mean, however, that I wouldn’t help you get started bee keeping. Always anxious to help folks get started!

Comment by memphisbackyardfarmer

How many hives are we talking about?

Comment by Bill

Bill – I almost missed this, I apologize. I would only need to place 2 or 3 hives.

Comment by memphisbackyardfarmer

my name is Timothy foleyI live in Raleigh 2914 Egypt central road I live on 8.4 acressurrounded by about 300 acresI would love to work out a dealI’m very interestedI have a garden but I don’t use pesticides

Comment by Marty Ham




Leave a Reply

