Memphis Backyard Farmer


Bees and Taters
April 13, 2013, 3:32 am
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , , , , ,

Had a great afternoon working in the garden today. In preparation for planting my spring crop I harvested a boatload of turnip greens (with my first turnips). I let the plants go to flower because they’re really beautiful and have a fantastic fragrance. I picked some as a bouquet for the kitchen, let the bees enjoy some (the bees love them!), then fed the rest to the bunnies.

Image

In addition, I did a walk through to see what was coming up, and it looks like my first potato is up, and the grapevines are covered in buds.

Image

My seedlings are going in the ground next week, along with lots of pots full of plants. I’ll keep you posted.

How does your garden grow?

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

No garden this year as we’re getting ready to move. However, I’ve got my CSA lined up and am hoping to go entirely local next year. Thanks for visiting my site.

Comment by Kelly Garriott Waite (@kgwaite)

No garden? I’m sad for you! We had to scale back from two plots to one, but We ‘re trying to be more creative and intensive in how We use our space.

Have you worked with a CSA before? We have not. Wondering how people describe their experiences with CSAs.

Thanks for stopping by!

Comment by memphisbackyardfarmer

I’ve been involved with a CSA for about eight years now – It’s been a positive experience all around.

Comment by Kelly Garriott Waite (@kgwaite)

The farmer’s market movement has finally picked up steam here in Memphis. The past couple of years have seen a huge increase in local markets. But CSAs are still few and far between here. I know of only one farmer who is attempting a CSA this year. I’m sure it will happen, but we’re a little behind the curve here.

Comment by memphisbackyardfarmer




Leave a Reply

