Memphis Backyard Farmer


The Fruit of Our Labor
May 16, 2013, 10:24 pm
Filed under: Uncategorized | Tags: , , ,

FIrst TomatoesI walked out this morning to check on the garden, and it seems that overnight four tomatoes blew out of the ends of my blossoms. They weren’t there yesterday. They’re here today.

The rain has come so often the last few weeks that I haven’t been able to do many of the chores that need to be done. Monday evening I finally got some okra in the ground, along with some kale and spinach transplants. In order to get the transplants in, I had a tremendous amount of cleanup work to do from the spring weeds. I also planted my rosemary and thyme in the front herb bed, and seeded the other herb bed with basil.

Today, while the sun is shining (it rained early this morning, and more is on tap for tomorrow), I’m going to attempt the following list:

  • Clean the rabbit cages
  • Turn compost
  • Trip and trellis grape vines
  • Plant more squash
  • Plant oregano

I’m hoping that in between the rain tomorrow and a day of company on Sunday that I can butcher six of my rabbits. That will leave my breeders, Bugsy and Ruby, as my lone rabbits for the hot summer months.

How’s your garden? What do you need to do today?

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

